Home Contact Us Login

Bermuda Cricket Board National Academy

U13 and U15 Teams Announced



After a comprehensive review the Bermuda Cricket Board ('the Board') is pleased to announce that the new Bermuda Cricket Board National Academy (BCBNA) structure will commence in the 2011 season. Within the new structure the BCBNA will have intakes in the Under 11, Under 13, Under 15 and Under 17 boys age groups as well as the National Women's team and the Under 16 Girls. Under the reviewed structure of the BCBNA players will be educated in the technical, tactical, physical, cognitive, psychological and attitudinal domains of the game. The program will be also underpinned with the concepts developed in the 'Pursuing Victory with Honour' program through the support of the Department of Youth and Sport. Dr. Mike Thompson quoted, "Good sports programs prepare the athlete for the game while the great programs prepare the athlete for life." Through our National Academy program we are aiming to not only develop elite sportsmen and women, but to develop quality young Bermudian citizens.


All stakeholders have a responsibility to take Bermuda cricket forward. It is the Bermuda Cricket Board's commitment to the BCBNA and the process of elite cricket development to employ quality committed coaches and provide appropriate training resources for players. Training and coaching methods are constantly being challenged and improved. This includes coaching knowledge and methodology, performance analysis systems, reporting structures, assistance for the athlete on and off the field, science and medicine protocols, drug education and nutrition education. The Board will provide the BCBNA coaches with the opportunities to develop knowledge, skills and understanding so that they may stay abreast of contemporary cricket coaching practice. The coaches have an obligation to the Board and the players in the programs to continue to develop their cricket knowledge, coaching acumen, personal skills and have the wherewithal to develop and implement both team and individual coaching programs. The athletes are responsible for their development through commitment to the BCBNA cricket and personal development programs, to listen to the BCBNA coaches and respond to feedback, to represent Bermuda with pride and dedication and to conduct themselves as quality young Bermudian citizens.


The first two intakes of the BCBNA are the U13 and the U15 squads. Trials were conducted on the 20th and 27th February and were very well attended. It has been a difficult process in finalizing the squads. The BCBNA coaches and I thank all those that attended and that have not been successful to continue to work hard at their game so that they continue to improve. There will be chances throughout the season for players to join the squad based on performances at Club level.


Two athletes, Delray Rawlins and Christion Gibbons are developing at an appropriate rate where thy have been fast tracked from the U13 program to the U15 program. It is important that in quality development programs players are constantly challenged. It is the Coaches opinion that this process will assist with the development of these two young cricketers.


U13 Academy Squad


Ra'che Williams      PHC
Jordan Smith         Southampton Rangers SC
Kacy Greene  
Jomei Bean-Lindo   DRC
Solomon Burrows   SCC
Rudi Butterfield      Willow Cuts CC
San'j Dill               Saltus
Davin Dill              PHC
Isaiah Creighton    CCCC
Zion Smith            CCCC
Q'Shai Darrell        CCCC
Micah Wellman      PHC
Tyejae Burchall     Southampton Rangers SC
Alje Richardson     SCC
Amari Ebbin  
Milan Butterfield  
Zandrae Smith     CCCC
Faheem Swan      Willow Cuts CC
James Finnigan     Flatts VRC
Jahkai Benjamin   SCC
Antione Seaman   Southampton Rangers SC


Clay Smith
Reggie Tucker
Calvin Waldron (Director)


U15 Academy Squad


Khalif Williams                         SCC
Khairi Joyiens                          SCC
Detre Bell                               DRC
Chokote Wainwright-Basden     Willow Cuts CC
Sheldon Caesar                       Southampton Rangers SC
Cameron Gordon                     Warwick WC
Joshua Commissiong                SCC
Sergio Raynor                         Western County
Antonio Darrell                        Willow Cuts CC
Justin Donawa                         SCC
Tariq Brown                            SCC
Kyle Tucker                            Warwick WC
Joshua Liyanage                      PHC
Jahcobi Butterfield                   Warwick WC
Demiko James                        Southampton Rangers SC
Denar Johnson                        Willow Cuts CC
Jahnoi Bean                            Western County
Alex Dore                               Southampton Rangers SC
Delray Rawlins                        PHC
Alex Avera                             Flatts VRC
Christion Gibbons                    Southampton Rangers SC

Donte Burgess                         Warwick Workmen's Club


Grant Smith
Lorenzo Tucker