Home Contact Us Login

BF&M Announces Sponsorship of the Women's Team at the ICC Regional Tournment



BF&M announced on Friday that they will be sponsoring the Womens National Cricket team next week at the Cayman Islands hosted ICC Regional tournament.


BF&M CEO John Wight stated that "BF&M has a long history of involvement with Bermuda cricket. In 2007 BF&M was a sponsor for the Mens and Womens National Cricket teams when they participated in the World Cup. Cricket is a great Bermuda tradition. For several years now we have sponsored the Under 17 League as we believe that core skills such as teamwork and discipline provide life lessons that will assist young men achieve their full potential in life. We are delighted to now be supporting the Womens National Team. These ladies are great role models for local school girls. On behalf of all the employees of BF&M I wish the womens team the best of luck and I look forward to following what we expect will be a very successful tour for the team."


Neil Speight, Executive Director of the Bermuda Cricket Board said,


"The BCB is very pleased to continue its long and successful partnership with BF&M. BF&M are an outstanding example of a local company with great corporate social responsibility and have a strong connection to the community. They have partnered with the BCB in promotion of womens and girls cricket for over 5 years, including support of breast cancer initiatives. On behalf of the BCB, I thank John and his team for their invaluable assistance and wish our squad all the best as they compete for a place in the ultimate competition, the 2014 World T20 in Bangladesh."


The following players have been selected to compete in the ICC Womens Championship, April 23 - April 28 in the Cayman Islands. Bermuda will face USA, Canada, Brazil, Cayman Islands and Argentina in this T20 Tournament.


Terry Lynn Paynter (Captain)

Lauren Faris

Rebecca Gibbons

Rebecca Gibson

Maryellen Jackson

Brittney Marshall

Reuna Richardson

Lisa Richardson

Satyrah Robinson

Emma Simmons

Yasala Simmons

Rachael Smith

Rickelle Smith

Precious Smith


Kalay Hollis

Asiah Joel


Lorenzo Tucker (National Womens Coach)

David Moore (National Coach)

Cheryl Ann Mapp (Team Manager)


National Womens Coach, Lorenzo Tucker stated,


The squad selected is a well balanced team filled with youth and experience. The inclusion of 7 all-rounders gives us a variety of options, which should prove to be invaluable for this T20 tournament. The women have been training 3 nights a week and are keen to improve their skills and represent the country well. I am very confident we will do well in this tournament.